Home ---- Calendar ---- Media ---- Donate ---- Contact Us

Share |

Gathering of Friends / Biltz Award

Take me to information about Humanitarian Awards Dinner and Walk for CommUNITY.

Annually, JCA holds its Gathering of Friends and presents the Father Joseph H. Biltz Award to outstanding individuals or groups who work for social change. On Thursday, March 31, we will have the pleasure of honoring Garbo Hearne, Muriel Lederman, and Scott Tanner as the 2016 Biltz Award honorees.  Join us in the Main Library's Darragh Center to celebrate the good work of these recipients and support JCA's mission of strengthening communities.

Make your reservation online - or download and print a reply card and mail with payment to JCA, 1400 W. Markham, Suite 405, Little Rock, AR 72201.

About Father Joseph H. Biltz
Father Joe was called “a prophet, the conscience of the community, loving, caring and joyful.” Biltz was a passionate leader for peace and justice, and his actions often sparked controversy. He worked with an array of people on many issues, including the poor and the elderly, for the repeal of the death penalty and the reduction of nuclear arms. He was chair of the Urban League and a member of the Arkansas Peace Center. His commitment to social justice inspired all who knew him.

There are many people in our community striving to create inclusion, acceptance and justice in different ways. Click here to nominate someone for this annual award.

Past recipients of the Father Joseph Biltz Award include:

Biltz Honor Roll

1987 Henry Tuck
1988 Rev. Hezekiah Stewart 
1989 Dr. Raymond V. Biondo
1990 Accept No Boundaries Founders, LR Central HS
1991 Brownie Ledbetter
1992 Ourtown Founders
1993 Jane Mendel
1994 Freddie Nixon
1995 Mimi Dortch
1996 Anytown Founders
1997 Elizabeth Eckford & Hazel Bryan Massery
1998 Irene Gaston Samuel
1999 Elijah Coleman & Grainger Williams
2000 Senator Jim Argue & Imam Johnny Aleem Hasan
2001 Members of The Panel of American Women
2002 LaVerne D. Feaster & Willie D. “Bill” Hamilton
2003 Col. Dutch Dorsch (Ret.) & Rev. William H. Robinson, Jr.
2004 Annie Abrams, Bishop Kenneth Hicks & Nina Krupitsky
2005 Dr. Betty Lowe, Bishop Larry Maze & John Walker
2006 Rev. Stephen Copley, Sister Catherine Markey, Albert J. Porter
2007 Dr. K.S. “Sunny” Anand, Jean Gordon, Sanford Tollette, IV
2009 Rev. Wendell Griffen, Ted Holder, Rev. Ed Matthews
2010  Gerald Cound, Beverly Divers-White Ph.D., Pat Lile 
2011  Joyce Hardy, Freeman McKindra Sr., Grif Stockley 
2012 Anna Cox, Rev. Logan Hampton, Susan May 
2013 Dr. Estella Morris, Renie Rule, Dr. Billy Thomas 
2014 The Interfaith Group, Deborah Robinson Bell, William A. Waddell, Jr. 
2015  Collins Kilgore, Kareem Moody, Kathy Ransom 

To learn more about this or other JCA events,contact Katy Julian at the JCA office.

    1400 West Markham, Suite 405
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201