Home ---- Calendar ---- Media ---- Donate ---- Contact Us

Share |
Ourtown for Teens
June 26-July 1, 2016 at Arkansas 4H Center 
A weeklong summer social justice institute for high school students
Cost is $450/student - limited spots available
Contact Braeden Hall for information

Ourtown for Teens facilitates greater respect and understanding of all people and provides the skills and motivation to promote these ideals in the broader community, through interactive activities, group discussions, role playing, guest presentations, skits, and games. And of course, there's plenty of opportunity for swimming, canoeing, hiking, and other summer camp fun! The bonds formed at Ourtown often turn into lifelong friendships. 

  • Develop self-awareness, understanding and appreciation for one's own and others' racial and cultural identities, heritage and ethnicity, spirituality, and more.
  • Cultivate an expanded awareness of prejudice and its harmful effects on individuals, groups, and communities; and
  • Learn and develop leadership skills for social change. 
Topics explored at Ourtown for Teens include:
  • Racial, ethnic and cultural identity
  • Stereotypes and discrimination
  • Gender roles and sexuality
  • Inter-religious respect
  • Building an inclusive community
Ourtown for Teens is recognized as one of the nation's premier youth leadership programs and incorporates interactive, experiential activities such as group discussions, role playing, guest presentations, skits and games. And of course, there's plenty of fun!  The bonds formed by delegates during Ourtown often turn into lifelong friendships.

Students entering 10th, 11th and 12th grades are invited to contact Braeden Hall,  Youth Programs Director, for more information.  

A special THANK YOU to Legacy Termite and Pest Control, and to an anonymous donor, for your generous sponsorship of Ourtown for Teens 2015!  

We also want to thank the following people, without whose support Ourtown would not be possible:

Ronnie Bankston
Steve Bauman
Deborah Bell
Ed Bennett
Kirk Bradshaw
Brent Bumpers
John Burkhalter
Christa S. Clark
Charles B. Cliett, Jr.
Carol Cornell
Kearney Dietz
Thomas Dooher
Randall Eller
Timothy L. Furlow
Susan S. Garrett
Elizabeth C. Gath
Patrick Henry Hays
Colette Honorable
David & Leticia Jones
Kathleen Jones
Janna Knight
Daniel Knight
Danny Knight

Anne & Stephen Lancaster
Tricia Larson
Frank Lawrence
Bobbye & Gene Levy
Pat & John Lile
Lynn Lindsey
Jo Luck
Anne Mackey
James D. Martin
Karen & Terry Masching
Ravyn Miller
Sharon Moone-Jochums
Jackie Moore
Jennifer Morgan
John Nazzaro
Ann Norris
James Norris
Mary Olson
Eileen & Patrick O'Sullivan
Shanara Parham
Carmen Parks
Capi Peck

Jennifer Pierce
Mary Poole
Rick Pruitt
Chet Roberts
Jay Sanate
Toby Sernel
Baxter Sharp
Dana Smith
Susan F. Smith
Trent L. Stewart
Gracia Stroud
Sharon Sweeney
Sherman Tate
Sabrina Taylor
Tom Tinker
Cynthia & John Tisdale
Clarke Tucker
Ashvin Vibhakar
Hannah K. Vogler
Oscar Washington
Charles Williams & Tana Belcher
William Wilson

Read what past delegates have to say about Ourtown for Teens here.

    1400 West Markham, Suite 405
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201